Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 29th, 2010

So last weekend was KapCon. For my non-gaming followers, this is a two day gaming convention that is held every Wellington Anniversary weekend. It stands for Kapiti Convention ( the Kapiti coast is 45 mins from Wellington, and is where the convention started).

So this year was KapCon XIX (19…technically 18, as a year went missing)

Over the past two years me and my hubby have helped run the convention, from orgnaising T-shirts, prizes, manning the desk, printing etc. This year the reigns were handed over to someone else, and both of us decided to get involved in writing the KapCon LARP (live action role play). I’ve been wanting to write about this for sometime, but as some of my followers are people who would attend and play in the Larp, I couldn’t. Now I can.

This was my first go at writing characters and helping come up with a plot and game plan. I hope I succeeded with the characters I came up with. The people playing them seemed to be enjoying themselves on the night…and so far I haven’t heard to many negative things about the game.

So what was the game about? It was called Reunion. Basically a gateway nexus had crashed and been closed for over 500 years (this is set well into the future), then the gates opened, and delegates from six of the union of planets were invited to the station to re-connect with the other planets.

We had six writers and each was responsible for one of the planets. My planet was essentially Hollywood gone very wrong. Where fame is everything, and the whole planet revolved aroundthe entertainment industry.

The people who played my planet were amazing, and all very eccentri. It was great to see the players interpretation with what was given. I have to say my favourite player is a guy named Tigger (Matt) who played a producer, that wanted everyone to work for him. He wore such bright clothing and his catch phrase was “I love ya baby.” It made me giggle every time I heard it.

The other planets were – Aboria, who were Victorian’s that lived on the top of giant trees.

Marrianne Le Grange of the Aborian's - Jenni

Marrianne Le Grange of the Aborian's - Jenni.

Chapparell – hippies gone wrong and all techno-tribal.

Frank

Victory Two-bos of the Chapparell - Frank

Sujan – a feudal society – there planets terraforming did not take.

Bharat – a capalist society, that had slavery (indian inspired for costuming)

Cigani – space gypsies.

All the players from ReUnion

All the players from ReUnion

Utimately I had fun writing this, even though there were moments during the year that I couldn’t find inspiration, but it all came together. Though I don’t know if I’ll write another one for awhile, as I really enjoy playing in them too.

As for the rest of the con. I got to play in four games during the weekend, two on Saturday and two on Sunday.

1st game was run by Idiot – Cold Shore. (Nemesis system)

Kinda creepy for a first round game, and I was quiet tired, it always takes me awhile to get into gaming, especially at that time of the morning. But it was a pretty good first round, with Freya, Susan, Liam, and I can’t remember the other guy (sorry :{ )

It’s set in the late 1800s with a ship sailing out from Oz to the UK. I played a cabin boy. The ship gets caught in a storm and is ship wrecked on an island. Weird shit starts to happen. It’s hard to say if we survived or not…as the game ended four of us were alive, some were pretty banged up though…so who knows really.

2nd round game, was run by Conan – NOBILIS ( in caps cause I love this game)

We have worked out that this game is my long term campaign, as I only get to play it at Kapcon and I’ve played all four games and have played the same character each time. This game followed on from the one two years ago (Conan didn’t run last year, which made me very sad) but much fun was had.  I left wanting to play more, like every time I play this game.

Basically you play gods that embody a part of creation. I was time. The other players (again can’t remember all the players that played) were Machines, Ruth was Dreams, Norman was Mind and Jonathan was Mischief. ( Conan had changed one of the characters from the last game, Mind used to be Order, but was very much like Machines). We had to go fight the bad guy that had stolen sight.  We performed some pretty awesome miracles to defeat the sucker.

Day two.

Round four – run by Nick Pitt  – Samurai Stir-fry the re-hash.

Me, Margi, Lucas, Carla and again another person I can’t remember.

Using the truth and justice system PDQ, Nick came up with this little beauty.

Again another episode in a previous game that I had played in a few years ago. Basically we are all Samurai from various animae.  So we had Jin and Mugen from Samurai Champloo, Kensin from Ruruoni Kensin, Samurai Jack from Samurai Jack and some extras that Nick created. Bad puns and hilarity ensued as we tried to work together and work out what was going on and take down the bad guys.

Round five – Jenni’s game – The Silver Kiss of the Magical Twilight of the Full Moon

If you can’t tell, heavily inspired by the emoness that is Twilight and all other cheesy supernatural fiction written out there.

Played with James P, Nick Pitt and Jackie.

Two of us were humans (me and james) and best friends.

The other two were supernatural creatures of some kind. We decided on vampires.

One of the humans (me) and one of the supernaturals (jackie) had to fall in love.

We let the game unfold, with much drama and emoness.

It ended tragically.

Jenni has done a fab write up of the game – click the link below

http://jennitalula.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/kapcon-19-day-2/

I took the last round off to help with tidying up.

Every year the caliber of writing goes up and the players get better as well. It’s also made more enthused about gaming in general. Now I just need to find a game that interests me, and a group to play with.

Read Full Post »